Day 14: DIY Burlap Canvas

Today I am featuring one of my friends, Cara Goedeking. She is one of creative ladies I met through Scrapping Everyday Miracles Design Team. She inspires a lot of people with her beautiful creations.

Cara lives in Boise, Idaho with her family. Her husband, Peter and Cara have been marriend for 11 years and have a daugther Ellie (8). They recently bought a vintage Airstream trailer and love to go camping, often they take a lot their black lab, Loretta. They are Christian family and moved to help starting a church plant 3 years ago.

I asked her how she started paper crafting and what inspire her to start paper crafting and she told me that she started her paper crafting with stamping and making cards about 15 years ago, then when Ellie was born she started scrapbooking. She always been crafty and loved drawing (mostly doodling) and coloring, so when she discovered stamping and card making, it was a perfect way to do what she loves with a purpose. Everyone loves getting a hand-made card (I agree! I know I do :D) When she got pregnant with Ellie, she decided that she wanted to scrapbook to have lasting memories. She loves it when she drags out all the scrapbooks she ever made so she can see all the memories their little family has created.

Her go-to tools are guillotine paper cutter, great detail scissors and ever-growing supply of punches! Her favorite enamel dots, mini glue dots (I love them too!) and her huge supply of patterned papers, especially Echo Park, Bella Blvd, October Afternoon, and My Mind’s Eye.

I asked her to share one of her work with us: You & Me, Burlap Canvas. She even generously shares with us the step-by-step how to make it!

you & me burlap

Steps To Make It:

  • Wrap piece of metal with burlap (you could just use a very sturdy piece of cardboard for the same effect)
  • Attach photo (use corner rounder if desired) with glue dots
  • Use patterned paper strips or washi tape on white cardstock (then trim it) to create the strips below the photo. Attach with glue dots.
  • Attach embellishments (I used pre-printed die cuts, button flair, and enamel dots) with glue dots. On some of the embellishments I used foam tape on back to lift.

Isn’t that a beautiful project? I am going to craft lift it for a gift this Christmas!

I would like to thank Cara for willing to share with us her project and a little bit about her and her family. It is a great blessing to know her and to be her friend 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 14: DIY Burlap Canvas

Thank You taking your time to write a comment here! I love reading it!

