WOAH! What?! Liebster Award Nomination!

liebsterblogaward

I am thankful, honored and flattered when I found out that I was nominated for Liebster Award by my fellow blogger, Tiffany, The Outlandish Momma! THIS IS AMAZING!(I am saying it like little Anna in the Frozen movie! LOL!) Fell free to check out the other 10 bloggers over her blog post here and give them some love.

What is Liebster Award? 

It is a fun way of giving recognitions to your fellow bloggers and getting to know them as you follow their blogs. It is a supportive way to help small bloggers to grow and finding new readers for their blogs. And I think this is one of many ways of build the social media community for new and growing bloggers like me 🙂

The rules are very simple:

liebsterawardrules

Eleven Questions asked by Tiffany, The Oulandish Momma… and here are my answers:

1. How did you start out?

I started out blogging in 2006 when it was kindda a big trend back in my home country at that time. But I was in the middle of finishing my school so that I did not blog regularly. Then I took a break from blogging for few months because I didn’t think that I would be a blogger.

2. What is one thing you despise about blogging?

This is kindda a hard question… I love blogging 😀 LOL! One thing I despise about blogging is that I don’t like to have too many sidebars on my blog. I think it is just a distraction for the readers to focus on reading the content of the blog.

3. What is your favorite thing about blogging?

My favorite thing about blogging is that I make A LOT OF FRIENDS! 😀

4. How many hours a day do you set aside to blog?

I set aside 15 – 30 minutes to blog every day.

5. What are your extra curricular activities {besides blogging and crafting}?

Actually, blogging and crafting are my extra curricular activities 😉 My every day activities are spending time and playing with my daughters, and also I like reading, listening to music and watching movies besides blogging and crafting.

6. Who is your Idol?

Tough question 😀 I like Celine Dion! LOL!

7. Who/what is your blogging inspiration?

I am inspired by many bloggers! I love the bloggers I met over HelloMornings group in the past 2 years. They are great blessings in my life. And also there are several link up parties (check where I party here)I am part of where I find lots of inspirations.

8. Do you ever get together with other bloggers?

YES! Last year, at Declare Conference, I had a great time meeting other bloggers that I have met online for over a year. And they are AMAZING! I am so thankful to be there and looking forward to meeting up again with them at the same conference this year.

9. Do you ever go to any crafting swaps or meets?

I joined couple card swap groups on Facebook. So far, haven’t had any craft swap meetings. I would love to meet them one day 🙂

10. What is you favorite thing about sharing your ideas?

What I love about sharing my ideas is that I have a chance to share the joy and opportunities with others.

11. What is your goal for this year?

My goals this year are to finish my daughters’ First Year albums, make and send more cards to friends and family instead of buying cards. And my family goal this year is that we will be on the mission field this year to serve long term with a mission organization. Once we are fully funded, we can go.

Eleven Random Facts about me:

  1. When I was little, I only had 1 stuffed animal, a grey seal.
  2. I am a big fan of Celine Dion and Bon Jovi (LOL!)
  3. Manadonese people (a people group in Indonesia) eat weird animals, like snakes, bats, fruit-eaten rats, dogs, but I am a Manadonese and I don’t eat them at all!
  4. I loved going karaoke with my youngest sister’s friends, they are like 8 years younger than me. We had so much fun and time together. I miss those days! LOL!
  5. I have more than 1 blog…. the other 2 blogs are: Living My Given Life which is my personal blog, currently I am working on merging my 2 blogs and hopefully it will be done in May) and The Gulletts, it is a blog about our ministry, news and prayer updates.
  6. Dark Chocolate and Dark roast coffee are my favorites.
  7. My weakness is always forget one thing when I pack for a trip. My bad!
  8. Can’t resist not going to Target, Apple Store, REI, Barnes & Noble, Craft and Scrapbooking stores, TJ Maxx, and Marshalls when we go to a city where they exist.
  9. I speak 4 languages so far… Manadonese, Betawi, Indonesian and English… and now I am learning Spanish together with my 5 years old! It was too bad that my parents didn’t teach us Mandarin when we were little 🙂
  10. I cannot swim but love snorkeling. How’s that for a wierdo?
  11. Last but the very most important of all… that when I was 3 years old I almost died in a car accident and had to have 4 major plastic surgeries until I was at 6th grade to fix my head and forehead. I am still here right now is because of God has a plan for me, that’s I have no doubt that He is at work in and through my life to make His name known and get all the glory! My life is His and I am thankful to be called God’s daughter.

And….this is the hard part to choose 11 bloggers out of hundreds bloggers I follow 🙂 After checking on them one by one, and I came to my up with these 11 AWESOME Bloggers:

  1. Cara @ Bits, Baubles & Bliss
  2. Kelly @ Blog, Blog, Blog!
  3. Robin @ Empty Nest Scrapbooker
  4. Toni @ Toni Herron… Scrap Crazy
  5. Rachel @ Blossom Cards
  6. Jessica @ Create and Share
  7. Christy @ Creating with the Girls
  8. Lisa @ Creative Juice Fresh Squeezed
  9. Greta @ GG Creations
  10. LaVon @ Inbox Whimsy
  11. Kim @ Angels In My Craftroom

Here are the Eleven Questions for my 11 bloggers:

  1. What or who has inspired you to start blogging?
  2. Tell us a little bit about you and what is your blog theme about?
  3. Do you have a dream place to go one day? If yes, where is it and why?
  4. What are 3 favorite things to do with your family?
  5. What would scare you the most?
  6. Who was your childhood best friend?
  7. What was your very first kind of car you drove when you got your driving license?
  8. Where do you like to go for a date night with your loved one?
  9. What is your dream job?
  10. What are your most 3 must have tools/things in your life?
  11. What are your top 3 goals you want to achieve this year?

Thank you for stopping by today… and don’t forget to visit each of the 11 awesome bloggers, check out their awesome blogs and give them some love 😀 Once again, Thank You, Tiffany, The Outlandish Momma, for nominating me for the Liebster Award!

6 thoughts on “WOAH! What?! Liebster Award Nomination!

  1. Thanks Helen for the nomination. Here are the answers to your questions.
    1. What and who inspired me to start blogging?
    I soon as I developed my passion for scrapbooking, stamping and cardmaking I started to check the internet for ideas. I started by visiting popular sites like Gina K designs and the Stamp TV site. When I noticed that the card designers had blogs I would go to those as well. About 3 years ago I asked for a book on blogging for Christmas. “Bloggin for Dummies” I think. My daughter gave me that book for Christmas and when my birthday came around that March gave me my own blog address.
    2. A little about me and my blog theme.
    I live in Chicago, IL. I have been married to my husband Don for 32 years. We have one daughter Kate 27 and a rescue dog Rory (according to his DNA test is predominately Pointer and White Swiss Shepard plus a lot of mixed breed) mostly he thinks he is human.
    My blog theme was a collaboration with my daughter who gave me address. I discovered that there is two equally popular spelling of the word whimsy. My flickr account came first and my address there is spelled whimsey as opposed to whimsy that my daughter registered with wordpress. Oh, well….
    3. The place I would like to visit most someday…. Is definitely the holy land. I dream of walking the same places that Jesus walked on earth. I think that no other place could be so awesome. I will not feel I traveled enough until I have made that trip.
    4. Favorite things to do with my family…. We are a close extended family. With Chicago family we get together to celebrate everyone’s birthday, adult or child. Of course holidays too. There will be 16 family members for Easter at least. There could be more if someone has a friend or two with no place to celebrate. Family vacations are also a favorite. We often rent a house big enough for family we don’t live near to join in a family vacation.
    5. I am not scared by much. I am pretty sure that for nearly all things God is in control and fear of the unknown is a waste of time. I prefer to be grateful for my many blessings.
    6. I grew up on a farm in Missouri. It was very rural so I had to ride a school bus for hours. I made a number of close friends that lived on our bus route and in my classes. But it was not like growing up with neighbors to play with next door. Unfortunately, I have lost touch with most of my childhood friends in my move to the city nearly 4o years ago.
    7. My very first car was a Ford Mustang ’65 Daytona Yellow. I loved that car paid for it myself working after school and on weekends.
    8. Date night for husband and I is Saturday. Nearly every Saturday I serve as an Eucharist Minister at my church for the 4:30 pm Mass. So our date starts out there. After Mass we love to go to an early dinner (nothing fancy) and take in a movie.
    9. My dream job…. I am torn here because I like my work as a dental hygienist. I love working with my patients and they become friends. However, my dream would be to serve the dental needs of people who don’t have access or can’t afford dental care. I have thought it would be great to have a mobile unit and go to the people who need the care. I also would love to make a living with my passion for cards if we are talking dreams.
    10. Three must have tools…. My computer, Silhouette Cameo, Rubber Stamps.
    11. Three Goals this year…. 1) Get healthier I had some health issues this past year 2) Blob more effectively… I am still learning
    3) Reach out more to old friends and make new ones.

  2. Fun reading your answers, Helen. Hope your funding is soon in place for your missionary trip. My dad managed a Christian radio station for many years & my mom interviewed all the missionaries who came here. Sweet of you to include me in your list of 11 blogs for the award. I just replied to a couple nominations & with limited creative time right now it will be awhile before I nominate any others.

Thank You taking your time to write a comment here! I love reading it!

