DIY Paper Flower Magnet

DIY Paper Flower Magnet by Helen G. #diy #papercrafting #silhouettesilhouette #silhouettecameo

I am a happy owner of Silhouette Cameo πŸ˜€ Since the first day my husband got it for me 2 years ago, I found so many inspirations and tutorials from other paper crafters.

Today I want to share with you how to make this simple 3D flower magnet that I made for my friend. This 3D Flower from Lori Whitlock is easy to assemble.

Let’s get started πŸ™‚

Supplies:

  • Cardstocks, any color you like for the flower (I used White Daisy and Gypsy cardstock)
  • Brads (I used The Paper Studio – Spare Parts)
  • Circle magnets
  • Craft glue, dries clear and strong (I used Turbo Tacky Glue and Martha Stewart ballpoint-tip glue pen)
  • Silhouette Cameo
  • Silhouette Studio Designer Software

Steps:

1. Open the 3D Flower cutting file on Silhouette Studio, you can get the Silhouette Studio software for free here. But I used Silhouette Studio Designer software that I bought couple years ago.

2. Resize the size of the file to 90% smaller using the Scale Window

DIY Paper Flower Magnet #diy #papercrafting #silhouettesilhouette #silhouettecameo

3. Ungroup the shapes.

4. Delete the leaves (but you can use the leaves if you want to).

DIY Paper Flower Magnet #diy #papercrafting #silhouettesilhouette #silhouettecameo

5. Duplicate the flower shapes and arrange them for cutting 2 flowers at the same time. Look at the picture how I arranged them:

DIY Paper Flower Magnet #diy #papercrafting #silhouettesilhouette #silhouettecameo

6. I cut each White daisy and Gypsy cardstock into 6″ x 8″ and lay them side by side on the cutting mat.

7. Send it to Silhouette to cut by clicking the 6th Icon Button that has the “red A” symbol on the left upper tool bar. Adjust the cutting setting. I used Plain Cardstock setting.

DIY Paper Flower Magnet #diy #papercrafting #silhouettesilhouette #silhouettecameo

8. Adjust the blade using at the machine to #4.

9. Cut. The machine will do the rest of the hard work πŸ™‚

10. Peel the shapes of the cutting mat. Do it gently and very careful. I used Silhouette Spatula to pick up the fine edge.

11. Use the spatula to curl the flower petals gently.

12. Stack them using a dot of glue on each layer.

13. Add a brad on the middle of the flower.

14. Add the circle magnet using the strong dry-clear glue.

15. Let them dry over night to make sure the magnet sticked well.

And your flowers are done! Give it a try and if you have questions, just let me know πŸ™‚

This project I link up at Silhouette America Blog Weekly Challenge – 3D Flowers For Spring

Thanks for being here today!

 

6 thoughts on “DIY Paper Flower Magnet

Thank You taking your time to write a comment here! I love reading it!

